To be a forester and run through the moss

2010/12/12 § Leave a comment

I recently researched the mori girl fashion on the Internet
and realised that I could recognise myself and many of my friends’ traits in the description of this Japanese subculture. Mori being Japanese for forest, this subculture is filled with people looking like fairytale wildwood wanderers who “choose to live life on their own terms, stopping to appreciate the little things that others overlook amidst the hustle and bustle of daily life” (the mori girl blog). The mori girls love to layer clothes; wool, cotton, fur, knits – this way of dressing is perfect for the Norwegian winter, where comfort and heat often is (and should be) given priority over elegance and femininity. However, if you start to dress like this I believe you can choose both. Dressing like this looks warm, comfortable, elegant and feminine.

She’s part Little Red Ridinghood (although she prefers dark blue, dark green or bordeaux brown to bright red), part Marie Antoinette pastoral fantasy, part Alice in Wonderland.” (imomus)

These romantic forest girls also care for the environment and simple living. It is easy to believe that the subculture developed as a stance against the cold, stressed and materialistic living of the overfilled cities in Japan, key words I have seen been used to describe this way of living are words such as natural, simple, gentle, comfortable, soft.

Grounded in a clear philosophy of wearing easygoing and cozy clothes, the forest-girl lifestyle is attracting a widening circle of women who prefer to dress in styles that accord with their pace of life and their natural selves rather than following transient fashion trends.” (web-japan)

Personally, I find this way of dressing to be cute and practical but there is no way I would be able to take this all out as I am way too fond of dressing up, doing my make-up and being a woman. Luckily, the late autumn/winter surely calls for some clothes of this fashion, while the warmer days can enable me to release my inner vintage pin-up.

If you want to know more about this style I suggest that you do research of your own as I have not nearly covered the entire subgenre in this post. I merely wanted to introduce this wonderful way of living to you.

https://i1.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/_owxfW3Uu6d4/TOQGcV6m82I/AAAAAAAABZw/eeD9kaym0N4/s400/Auntie+Rosa+9.png

https://i2.wp.com/8tokyo.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/mori04.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To be a forester and run through the moss at .

meta

