Happy Birthday To Me (demo)

2011/02/24 § Leave a comment

Here comes my wish list for my 20th birthday
which will arrive sooner than expected (a very much dreaded time of year, this is). Alas, my family expects a list of possible gifts, unless I would rather receive socks only, so I guess I have to yield.

I am not expecting much this year (that sounded very materialistic), seeing that my brother’s konfirmasjon is in early May, meaning that my family will spend enough money on the OK siblings by the end of the semester. I am also turning into an old lady who is gracefully subdued by a simple bouquet of flowers. I am, however, planning to marry the year my brother turns 20 (insert evil laugh), unless I am lucky enough to meet, charm and get engaged to Prince Charming within the 11th of November this year. CAUSE THAT WOULD BE AWESOME (so if you think you are Prince Charming in disguise, please contact me a.s.a.p. I’m yours!).

But I’m heading off-track again, so without further ado, here comes my wish list for 20th birthday (/March ’11) in Norwegian

  • Photoshop for MacBook Pro
  • Symaskin
  • Skrivemaskin
  • Stjernekikkert
  • Keyboard
  • Gavekort
    • Bokhandel
    • Japan Photo / FotoVideo
    • Undertøysforretning
    • Gullsmed
    • Make Up Store
  • Utstyr til Nikon D60 (linser, filter, blits)
  • Polaroidkamera
  • Bøker
    • Historiebøker
    • Biografier
    • Bøker om religion/spirituell tro/filosofi
    • Bøker om verdensrommet
    • Anatomisk tegnelære
    • Norwegian Wood (Haruki Murakami)
    • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (Hunter Thompson)
    • Girl, Interrupted (Susanna Kaysen)
    • Snow Crash (Neal Stephenson)
    • The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time (Mark Haddon)
    • Stille Dager I Mixing Part (Erlend Loe)
    • Everything is Illuminated (Jonathan Safran Foer)
    • Learning To Love You More (Miranda July)
    • Battle Royale (Koushun Takami)
    • Wreck This Journal (Keri Smith)
    • Essays in Love (Alain de Botton)
    • The Tent eller The Year of the Flood (Margaret Atwood)
    • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Truman Capote)
    • Nausea (Jean-Paul Sartre)
    • Lolita (Vladimir Nabokov)
    • Seven Types of Ambiguity (William Empson)
    • The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Milan Kundera)
    • Valley of the Dolls (Jaqueline Susann)
    • Popsongar (Frode Grytten)
    • Jag Behöver Dig Mer Än Jag Älskar Dig Och Jag Älskar Dig Så Himla Mycket (Gunnar Ardelius)
    • Afternoon Tea (kokebok, Frankie Magazine)
    • A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary For Lovers (Xiaolu Guo)
    • Either/Or (Soren Kierkegaard)
    • No One Belongs Here More Than You (Miranda July)
    • Hasjklubben (Charles Baudelaire)
    • How I Live Now (Meg Rosoff)
    • Looking For Alaska (John Green)
    • Great House (Nicole Krauss)
    • The Elegance of the Hedgehog (Muriel Barbery)
    • Mensa-bøker (IQ-tester og hjernetrim)
    • Famous Last Words – Fond Farewells, Deathbed Diatribes and Exclamations Upon Expiration

I have to confess something. Most of the times I receive a book as a gift (birthday/Christmas/whatever), the giver has brought my list to a book shop to buy whichever is available. Together with the gift, I often get served a charming anecdote of how surprised/glad/impressed/whatever the book shop sales person was with my book taste when handed the list. This is, of course, flattering (although I am well aware of my splendid reading habits – I have read several of the books on Harry’s list without even knowing they were on it!). These occurences have however given me some sort of performance anxiety when writing said book wish list. I have tried to get over it, I really have, but knowing that some day, some book shop sales person will read and judge my book wish list makes me feel like I must concider each book before putting it on the list. Not so much by if I would like to read it, but if other people would like me wanting to read it. Am I the only one with said anxiety? Is this sad and pathetic? Should I stop reading altogether?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Birthday To Me (demo) at .

meta

