You’re a hooker, you hooker

2011/03/03 § Leave a comment

I just watched The Good Girl
with Jennifer Aniston and Jake Gyllenhaal. (Instead of the trailer: a fan video with Elliott Smith’s music and lots of kissing.)

Justine: Holden – calm down! Alright?
Holden: I can’t calm down! Easy if I was a hooker like you then I’d calm down all over town!

I originally downloaded the film because someone told me that Zooey Deschanel played in it, and that she said “fuck you very much” in it. Horrible reason, right? I was bored. Seeing the poster, however, I was unsure if I would actually be able to force myself through yet another Aniston-comedy (I don’t really like her work, not even Friends that much. Blasphemy, I know).

As a girl you see the world as a giant candy store filled with sweet candy and such. But one day you look around and you see a prison and you’re on death row. You wanna run or scream or cry but something’s locking you up. Are the other folks cows chewing cud until the hour comes when their heads roll? Or are they just keeping quiet like you, planning their escape.

A couple minutes into the film we are introduced to the character played by Gyllenhaal. The film is from 2002, so not too long after Donnie Darko. Gyllenhaal made very interesting character choices in the early 2000s, apparently. Very teen-angsty, but that’s how we like ’em, I guess. This character’s name is Holden Worther. Holden as in the Holden Caulfield (from The Catcher In The Rye (yeeeees!)). Worther as in The Sorrows Of Young Werther. This alone is reason enough to love this film. Forever and ever. And on top of that (though not so surprising; he has to live up to his name after all) Holden Worther is amazing. He is everything I love in a character — existentialistic, depressed, alcoholic, introvert, a hopeless romantic, an awkward writer and so pathetic that it is enjoyable. Probably more, but ooooh lord. Yes!

Holden: I’m staring to think that you don’t get me.
Justine: Maybe I don’t get you.
Holden: You do! You do get me, you just don’t wanna get me because I am too intensified for you!

You should definitely watch this if you enjoy characters like Holden. You should stay away if you like happy endings, have problems with affairs, easily label people “mentally unstable”, hate Zooey Deschanel in bright make-up, get queazy watching sex scenes and male genitals or if you like Aniston-comedies.

Favourite parts? The drunk car scenes. Oh, and the bloody letter:

Dear Justine,
Because of you I will be quitting the Retail Rodeo. The last two days have been the most God awful of my life. I’ve not been able to get rid of you in my head. I’ve never wanted anything so bad and I have wanted many things.
I’d given up long ago on being gotten by someone else, and then you came along. The idea that I could be gotten because of circumstantial never get got is the worst feeling I’ve ever felt and I have felt many bad feelings.
I’m sorry I can never see you again, Justine. Forgive me for being so weak, but that is who I am.
Goodbye.
Holden Worther.
If, for some reason, you could change your mind and wanna be with me body and soul, meet me after work. I will be waiting for you at 5pm outside Chunky Cheese. If you are not there at five you will never see me again in your lifetime.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You’re a hooker, you hooker at .

meta

