Jealousy will drive you mad

2011/06/15 § Leave a comment

Moulin Rouge! is beautiful,
artistically and emotionally.  Ever since I saw it at Tine’s place a very long time ago, I’ve loved it, I suspect it to be what inspired me to become interested in burlesque and vintage. The costumes, the setting, the Boheme, the freedom, the love, this film. It is amazing, at times ugly, at times funny, at times sad sad, but always inspiring.

Days turned into weeks, weeks turned into months. And then, one not-so-very special day, I went to my typewriter, I sat down, and I wrote our story. A story about a time, a story about a place, a story about the people. But above all things, a story about love.

At times I wish I was a cancan-dancer at Moulin Rouge. Most times not, for obvious reasons, but the costume and the dance and the seduction and the make-up and the femininity… always this femininity.

The Moulin Rouge. A night club, a dance hall and a bordello. Ruled over by Harold Zidler. A kingdom of night time pleasures. Where the rich and powerful came to play with the young and beautiful creatures of the underworld. The most beautiful of these was the one I loved. Satine. A courtesan. She sold her love to men. They called her the “Sparkling Diamond”, and she was the star of the Moulin Rouge.

I don’t need you anymore! All my life you made believe I was only worth what someone would pay for me! But Christian loves me. He loves me!

The show must go on, Satine. We’re creatures of the underworld. We can’t afford to love.

Never fall in love with a woman who sells herself. It always ends bad.

Don’t worry Shakespeare, you’ll get your ending. Once the Duke gets his end-in.


 Christian, you may see me only as a drunken, vice-ridden gnome whose friends are just pimps and girls from the brothels. But I know about art and love, if only because I long for it with every fiber of my being.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jealousy will drive you mad at .

meta

