FACES CHANGE AND RULES, THEY ALL GET REARRANGED.

2011/10/24 § 1 Comment

I have been listening to Villagers for a couple of months now.
First heard about them on HBM’s blog, and decided to give them a go due to O’Brien’s name (I suck, I know).

Villagers is an Irish band, formed in 2008, fronted by Conor O’Brien, who allegedly wrote the band’s first song one morning while being hungover. The lyrics are dark and eerie, very fitting for the late autumn/Halloween time of the year, with great, great instrumental parts (?). Becoming A Jackal, their debut album, is all that I have listened to by them this far, and I am really enjoying it, even though I found it a bit hard to get into at first. This might be due to the fact that it was summer when I first gave them a go, and when it didn’t fit my immediate mood, I gave up. However, second chances are handed out to all, and this time around I think I’ll get it. I am looking for their EP (Hollow Kind), as I have heard a rumour that it is slightly better than the album. The songs have, as previously mentioned, wonderful melodies, however, and BaJ is well worth a listen or two. Very emotional singing and I am sorry for the horrible writing in this post but I am paying attention to a football match while worrying for an essay and having a headache and having to pee at the same time so maybe it will be revisited to touch up on it later on.

Youtube?
Becoming A Jackal
 The Pact (I’ll Be Your Fever)
 Cecelia & Her Selfhood

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to FACES CHANGE AND RULES, THEY ALL GET REARRANGED.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FACES CHANGE AND RULES, THEY ALL GET REARRANGED. at .

meta

