On Life of Pi

2013/01/30 § 5 Comments

(This is quickly translated from Norwegian.)

(I have so many blog posts planned, hahaha, three books and three concerts, who’s got time for coursework?)

Okay, so I finished reading Life of Pi. And I still don’t believe in a God/gods.

My favourite quote is “be excessively reasonable and you risk throwing out the universe with the bathwater”, there are some more quotes at the end of the post. They are probably helpful if one is trying to form an opinion on what kind of book this is, and why I like it.

There might be some minor spoilage in my text and there’s one paragraph which has major spoilers, but I’ll write that there are spoilers before and after etc. I’ll even see if I can find, y’know, the spoiler marking thing that they have at the IMDB forums and stuff. WordPress probably has fancy stuff like that.

Part one of the book was really annoying. I mean, I don’t mind all the God talk, it has its moments, but his views on zoos made me want to poke the narrator in the ribs just to tell him to shut the fuck up and leave me alone. It doesn’t matter than animals have no raison d’être in the zoos cause everyone and everything is inherently lazy and as long as we’re all able to procreate we’re happy? I call bullshit. Pretty sure I have issues when it comes to the pure biological evolutionary theory (which might be because of a) feminism or b) spiritualism or c) me being stubborn). Anyway, seeing as this was the first book of the year, I couldn’t really stop reading it even though I really really wanted to. Part one took me ages.

The book takes a turn for the better when the ship sinks (ooops, spoiler) and he’s in the lifeboat. The second part was really enjoyable, I had a good time reading it. In particular, I found the island fascinating. Not too keen on all the sharks, though. Really can’t handle sharks very well. Regardless, the ocean part of the book was intriguing and well described (IDK) – I think I need to go see the movie just to have a visual aid for all the beautiful scenery.

MAJOR SPOILER COMING UP

The third part, or the end, or whatever, again, really pissed me off. When he tells the second story I really got quite panicky. “Oh, no, damn you world which creates boys with well-developed imaginations to confuse us mortals”. But then I realised that you can CHOSE what story you believe in and that made me happy for a couple of minutes, until I started wondering if the first (the longest, the biggest, the one with animals) story was the most believable one to me because I only see the good in people (which I don’t, just ask anyone). But then I remembered the blind French cannibal. Then I figured that maybe your choice of which story to believe reflects your ability to believe in God. That made me slightly sad.Hvis du har lest boken, eventuelt sett filmen hvis det er med der, hvilken historie tror du på, og hvorfor?

MAJOR SPOILER OVER AND DONE WITH

So that’s the first book of 2013. It was kinda good, not the biggest revelation, but better than some other books. Y’know. This is so hard.

You should read it if a sunset could make you cry, or you could look at the starry night sky for hours, or you don’t understand people who don’t agree with the world being really fucking stunning and that nothing ever can be more beautiful than the moon.

I don’t know what kind of person you would be to not benefit from reading it. I think the entire world should read books, and this is a better option to 50 Shades of Gray. Also, it cost me £0.20 on Kindle Store (I know, I’m a traitor of paper books! It happened once. ONCE!)

~ *  Q U O T E S  * ~
[…prrrretty]

I will not die. I refuse it. I will make it through this nightmare. I will beat the odds, as great as they are. I have survived so far, miraculously. Now I will turn miracle into routine. The amazing will be seen every day. I will put in all the hard work necessary.

A tie is a noose, and inverted though it is, it will hang a man nonetheless if he’s not careful.

The pure animal confidence, the total absorption in the moment. Such a mix of ease and concentration, such a being-in-the-present, would be the envy of the highest yogis.

The island was Gandhian – it resisted by not resisting.

It was a huge zoo, spread over numberless acres, big enough to require a train to explore it, though it seemed to get smaller as I grew older, train included. Now it’s so small it fits in my head.

Things didn’t turn out the way they were supposed to, but what can you do? You must take life the way it comes at you and make the best of it.

And finally,
Had a lovely time. Smiles to prove it.
just because it reminded me of Rorschach and he is my favourite graphic novel character ever. Hearts.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to On Life of Pi

  • Cecilie says:

    (Da blir det engelsk! Er ikke verdensmester i det språket som du, men det får holde. Håper jeg. Er nervøs.)
    I simply love how you wrote this. It made me laugh. Not entirely convinced that this is a kind of book I would enjoy, or understand. So there’s that. However, I can say – even without having read it – that it is most definitely better than 50 Shades. And I haven’t read that one either.
    By the way, you look adorable in the picture to the right. (And I really hope that’s you, or else I just made a fool of myself.)

    • Kharma says:

      Aw, thank you for the kind words. It is indeed me, back in 2010. I have never been adorable, I just knew how to work the camera. Sadly, I no longer possess that talent.

  • Hanne M says:

    I have read the book. And all I remember is that he had to kill and eat animals after being vegetarian all his life. Which I think repelled me more than him. Oh, and when he dropped one of the animals from that tree on the floating island to see if the plants on the ground were dangerous at night. And they were. D:

    But we do what we must to survive.

    Have you seen Earthlings, btw? The full 90 min movie? I want you to see it. No, I don’t wish you any harm, I just want you to see it.

    • Kharma says:

      I guess that part was supposed to be shocking. The island was awesome, though I didn’t remember him dropping one of the animalscan’tremembertheirnames. I liked the fruit with teeth inside of them.

      Not seen Earthlings. You sent me the link, I’ll hopefully get to see it asap, even though I must admit I am quite freaked out by your “I don’t wish you any harm” comment.

      • Hanne M says:

        It can be traumatising for some people, but in a good way I think. Useful trauma. Makes you realise what kind of person you want to be and what world you want to live in. Maybe. Yeah. Just see the damn thing.

        *smileyface*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Life of Pi at .

meta

